Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join OD Network
Community Search
Communicating OD Knowledge: In Honor of Larry Porter

Purpose of the Award

To honor individuals who, like Larry Porter, have demonstrated a commitment to:
  • Bringing new, clarified, or expanded knowledge to the field of OD.
  • Contributing conceptually to the field by publishing, teaching, making professional presentations, or communicating through other channels.
  • Playing a leadership role in sharing knowledge that has significantly influenced the field of OD.

Criteria for This Award

This award recognizes individuals whose writing, speaking, teaching, or public presentations have significantly contributed, over many years, to the development of the field and to the body of knowledge required for effective OD practice. Such a contribution could include:
  • Publishing frequently in a variety of contexts, both within and outside familiar OD publications.
  • Presenting and generously sharing conceptual work that develops, integrates, and applies theory to OD practice.
  • Writing or using other media to promote useful learning and capacity-building throughout the practitioner community.
  • Creating a body of work that has a national and international perspective and reputation.
  • Communicating knowledge in a way that generates respect in the field and attracts a diverse constituency of colleagues, practitioners, and students.

Larry Porter played a key role in the development of the profession and of the OD Network. For nearly three decades, he encouraged and cajoled both new and experienced practitioners to contribute their knowledge and experience to the field. He served on the Board of Trustees for almost 10 years, and he was the Editor of the OD Practitioner throughout the 1970’s. He also presented regularly, authored or edited many classic articles, and brought indefatigable energy, spirit, caring, and authenticity to everything and everyone he touched. We were all saddened by his death in 2010.

Past Award Recipients

 2015- Juana Anguita  2008 - Anne Litwin
 2014 - Edward Lawler  2004 - David Cooperrider
 2013 - John Vogelsang  2004 - Diana Whitney
 2011 - Chris Worley  
 2009 - Roger Harrison  
 2009 - Judith Katz  


Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't joined yet?


8/1/2016 » 8/8/2016
2016 08 Welcome Group

8/16/2016 » 8/23/2016
2016 09 Welcome Group

10/7/2016 » 10/10/2016
2016 OD Network Annual Conference

Featured Jobs

Post a JobMore Jobs