Member Search   |   Site Search   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join OD Network
Lifetime Achievement Award

Award Purpose

This award is given in recognition of a Network member who has made a significant and lasting impact on the field and practice of organization development through their professional accomplishments, served the profession over an extended period of time, has earned the respect and admiration of professional colleagues and has freely engaged not only contemporaries, but also been committed to maintaining a dynamic connection to all generations of OD practitioners

Award Criteria

Recipients of this award are recognized for outstanding conceptual contribution and fundamental advancement in the field and practice of OD. In completing the nomination application, the nominator should address the nominee’s commitment siting examples of as many of the following criteria as possible. The nominee has repeatedly demonstrated:

  • Writing, speaking, teaching, and delivering public presentations that have significantly contributed to the development of the field, the body of knowledge required for effective OD practice and building understanding of the value of OD brings to organization
  • Contribution to professional literature (e.g., has published highly-respected work; is a frequently cited source in books and journals; has created a body of work that has enhanced the practice of OD)
  • Challenging our way of thinking about the practice of OD and reinterpretation of existing theory as to enhance understanding of the profession
  • Significant client/community impact through the application of OD theory, principles and practices while working client engagements.
  • Commitment to others through teaching, mentoring, writing, speaking, blogging, and sharing information
  • Communication of the purpose, principles, values, and the impact OD offers the larger world such that the value of OD is increasing understood and positively impacts market demand for well-trained OD practitioners grows
  • Global and/or national recognition for her/his contributions
  • Exemplifying the values and practiced the principles of OD in his/her own behavior

Award Description

This award is presented when a worthy recipient is identified. This may or may not be an annual occurrence. Not more than one Lifetime Achievement Award is presented per year. Previous recipients are not eligible for and may not be recognized with this award multiple times. The award is presented at the OD Network Annual Conference. Award recipients receive a complementary admission to the entire conference.

How to Nominate:

2017 award nominations will open soon!

Past Award Recipients

2016- Robert Crosby 2010- Edwin C. Nevis, Ph.D.
2004- Marv Weisbord
2016- Sandra Janoff, Ph.D. 2010- Dick Axelrod
2003- W. Warner Burke
2015- Michael Broom, Ph.D.
2009- John Carter
2002- Peter Vaill
2015- Barry Johnson
2009- Glenn Varney
2001- Kathie Dannemiller
2015- Barry Oshry
2008- Peter Block
2001- Edie Seashore
2015- Dr. John J. Scherer LHD
2007- Frederick Miller
2000- Robert Marshak
2014- Judith Katz, Ed.D
2006- Chris Argvris
1999- Billie T. Alban
2014- Frederick Nader
2006- Saul Eisen
1999- Bob Tannenbaum
2013- Mee-Yan Cheung Judge
2005- Barbara Benedict Bunker
2012- David Sibbet
2005- Edgar Schein
2011- Brenda B. Jones
2004- Charlie Seashore
New to the Network

1000 Westgate Drive, Suite 252
Saint Paul, MN 55114
Phone: +1.651.379.7292
Fax: +1.651.290.2266

Copyright © 2017 Organization Development Network. All rights reserved.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal